SMH - Wellbeing and emotional support teams in schools banner

WEST - wellbeing and emotional support teams in schools banner

Wellbeing and Emotional Support Teams in Schools

The Wellbeing and Emotional Support Teams (WEST) in schools service is designed to help children and young people ages 5-18 years access mental health and wellbeing support early on in educational settings.

It's all about ensuring children and young people can get access to the right help as early as possible.

Our mission...

An early intervention service integrated in education settings to promote children and young people’s emotional wellbeing, keeping the child’s voice at the heart.

There are lots of different clinicians and support staff who work in the team who have different expertise, but all work well together. In the team there are:

  • Education mental health practitioners
  • Senior practitioners
  • Clinical leads
  • Operational leads
  • Service manager
  • Support staff


Types of support offered

The team offer short term support delivered by education mental health practitioners (EMHPs) and senior practitioners, using cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) methods to help with low mood, wellbeing, anxiety and behavioural difficulties. 

CBT is a type of talking therapy that helps people learn handy and effective ways to manage their issues.

These interventions will be delivered either face to face or virtually through 1:1 sessions. Group sessions are also available for children, young people, and their families, or for school staff or parents where a specific topic might be suitable for them only.

EMHPs in schools may hold larger assemblies where they may talk about things like resilience and wellbeing so it can benefit all pupils/students.

Teams will work in partnership in schools, as an additional resource to their existing mental health support, using a whole-system approach to promote resilience and wellbeing, enable earlier intervention, provide appropriate signposting and deliver evidence-based care and interventions. This will help the school to reflect on its current wellbeing mechanisms, highlighting areas which may require action to improve help for all staff, pupils and families.

Referral to other support services

Where more specialist help is required we can refer the young person to another service who can provide the right kind of support they need, and we will continue to work closely with the service throughout their treatment.

What schools does the team work with?

Which Schools we visit

The team work across 95 primary and secondary schools in Herefordshire and Worcestershire listed below:

Wyre Forest

  • Cookley Sebright Primary School
  • Franche Community Primary School
  • Baxter College
  • Holy Trinity School
  • Foley Park Primary Academy & Nursery
  • Heronswood Primary School
  • Offmore Primary School
  • St Ambrose Catholic Primary School
  • St Catherine's CE Primary School
  • St George's CE Primary School
  • St John's CE Primary School
  • St Mary's CE Primary School
  • St Oswald's CE Primary School
  • Sutton Park Primary RSA Academy
  • Wolverley Sebright Primary Academy
  • King Charles I School & Sixth Form Centre
  • Wolverley CE Secondary School


  • Ipsley CE RSA Academy
  • Ridgeway Academy
  • St Bede's Catholic Middle School Academy
  • Walkwood CE Middle School
  • Arrow Vale RSA Academy
  • Birchensale Middle School
  • Church Hill Middle School RSA Academy
  • Kingfisher School
  • St Augustine's Catholic High School
  • Trinity High School & Sixth Form Centre
  • Tudor Grange Academy, Redditch
  • Woodfield Academy


  • Queen Elizabeth High School
  • Aylestone School
  • Earl Mortimer College & Sixth Form Centre
  • John Masefield High School
  • Herefordshire Pupil Referral Unit
  • Whitecross High School and Specialist Sports College
  • Kingstone High School
  • Lady Hawkins' School
  • Fairfield High School
  • Weobley High School
  • Wigmore High School
  • John Kyrle High School and Sixth Form Centre
  • The Bishop of Hereford's Bluecoat School
  • St Mary's RC High School
  • The Hereford Academy
  • Steiner Academy Hereford
  • Barrs Court School
  • The Brookfield School
  • Kington Primary School 
  • Weobley Primary School HR4 8ST
  • Lord Scudmore 
  • St Peter's Primary School 
  • St Francis Xavier's Primary School
  • Marlbrook Primary School 
  • Leominster Primary School 
  • Luston Primary School
  • Riverside Primary School 
  • Kingstone & Thruxton Primary School 
  • St Martin's Primary School 
  • Broadlands Primary School
  • Withington Primary School
  • Blackmarston School 
  • Stoke Prior Primary School
  • St Thomas Cantilupe CofE Primary School
  • Brampton Abbotts CofE Primary School 
  • Lea CofE Primary School 
  • Bridstow CofE Primary School
  • Goodrich CofE Primary School

South Worcestershire

  • Hanley Castle High School & Sixth Form Centre
  • Pershore High
  • Tenbury High Ormiston Academy
  • The Chantry School
  • Dyson Perrins CE Academy
  • Prince Henry's High School
  • The Chase
  • The De Montfort School
  • Nunnery Wood Primary School
  • Stanley Road Primary School
  • Carnforth School
  • Cherry Orchard Primary School
  • Dines Green Community Academy
  • Cranham Primary School
  • St Barnabas CE Primary School, Worcester
  • Cutnall Green CE Primary School
  • Witton Middle School
  • Chawson Community First School
  • Westacre Middle School
  • Hollymount School
  • Wychbold First & Nursery School
  • Perry Wood Primary & Nursery School
  • St Joseph's Catholic Primary School, Worcester
  • Tudor Grange Primary Academy Perdiswell
  • Westlands First School
  • Ombersley Endowed First School
  • Oasis Academy Warndon
  • St George's Catholic Primary School, Worcester

Wellbeing and Emotional Support Teams in Schools referral information

Referrals into our service are made through the mental health lead within the specific education setting.

The child or young person can also self-refer via the school staff, who will then discuss it with the Mental Health Lead.

Parents/carers can also refer to the service via the designated Mental Health Lead within the school.

Help and resources

If you are a child or young people please visit the our information section to find out more about feelings and emotions.

Give us your feedback

CAMHS Services Friends and Family Survey

We are always looking for feedback on our services and we would love to hear from you. 

You can complete the quick CAMHS feedback survey here.

 If you have any queries please contact Kerry McFarlane, Patient Experience Lead -  Many thanks